Make someone happy

026

It’s the International Day of Happiness today. Even the mere fact we do have the Day of Happiness makes me happy. Well, I am easy to please. The last few months have been a bit challenging (my Mum has been diagnosed with cancer) and I have been trying to keep myself occupied to minimise the impact of my own thoughts. I believe it’s not the circumstances that make us sad-it’s our brains interaction with them, the way we process and explain the reality. I try and focus on ‘counting my blessings’- and I am truly blessed with people who love me (not the easiest task in the world), my pets and so many other tiny aspects of my life I sometimes overlook.

My newest source of happiness is making things. It’s surprising, as for the great majority of my life I wasn’t a maker. I think, plan, analyse-but not do. Maybe I needed to mature to understand the seemingly insignificant activities can make you proud-and happy.

My therapeutic sewing can also make others happy. I sew collars and harnesses for charities and I’m over the moon when I see another proud rescue wearing something I have made. My insomnia is turned into something material, real, something good.

My sewing room is not my woman’s cave, however. It’s constantly invaded by all my pets minus George -one of the snakes. The finches are there as it’s the sunniest room in the house. They also really enjoy the sound of me sewing. They compete with it, their singingΒ  drowning out even the industrial sewing machine’s humming. The cats simply love having naps on the shelves, buried in the most expensive fabric. The dogs just enjoy being where I am. Sleeping or demanding attention (Lily) or being disruptive and hyperactive (Brian).

So, my happy room is a place where I can be in my world, surrounded by love, too busy to think. And I can make someone happy-as I intend to today, too.

29 thoughts on “Make someone happy

    1. I make various types of them (and all prototypes are tested on my poor doggies). But I always start with the same: strong polypropylene webbing, cut to the size I need, then fabric, cut to the size of webbing +1” or 2”. For ultra sturdy harnesses I have used double webbing, but I don’t think it really is necessary. I cover the webbing with fabrics (or fabrics and grossgrain or jaquard ribbon) , kind of like making a bias tape (I’m not sure if you sew, so I don’t know how much to explain). I assemble the harness, add the hardware, then add the fleece/ sherpa/scuba lining to the front piece (my favourite harnesses are the ones my dogs wear). Apart from being a bit time consuming, it’s super easy. The front clip harnesses are always with double webbing around the clip (so you might need a really sturdy machine, the industrial ones are great for this). I make some heavier ones for some fearful dogs (kind of like a thunder shirt, we don’t really know why they work). Front clip really helps with pulling (though nothing is better than training). Many rescues are touch sensitive, thus the harnesses are always lined with something soft. For sports I make harnesses that teach dogs how to pull and are safe for running (rings on each side, wide front strap). They are also better when made from codura (waterproof, heavy polyester).

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I sell them for the charity (well, charities). I can make you one for free-but I think it will take ages to arrive…maybe you need to move to the UK? πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your post today made me happy… not the part about your Mother, I am sorry. My mom also had cancer. But she did survive it. Prayers for your Mother. I admire the description of your lovely sewing room.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think there’s enough of your Loving Attention to go around to be sure your Mum will be well; and many four leggeds will be magnificently splendid! What a great idea. Thoughts are real “things” and you are so wise to embark on such a positive response! Jack says hi and all the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and Jack πŸ™‚ My mum knows she’s loved-by many. After all, she’s taught me never to forget to tell people I love them (when I do, of course πŸ˜‰ I’m not completely mad stalking strangers and shouting ‘I love you’ while chasing after them down the road).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A difficult time-I’m sorry and here if you need a chat or a specially written story to cheer πŸ™‚ xoxo
    Totally in awe of your sewing skills…I’m afraid of sewing machines but since I gave up smoking I’ve found bits and pieces like macrame helpful. And writing of course…as I type, I have three cats observing and offering suggestions. Alex is out drinking Greek vodka…didn’t even know you could GET Greek vodka…xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Samantha, I do appreciate it.
      I mainly like sewing because of machines, actually. And Hedhehog can always correctly asses my mood by the way I sew and the machine I use…anyway I really find it rather therapeutic-and I’m sure anything created by you can have the same effect and fill you with pride πŸ™‚ It’s a strange sensation to claim responsibility for something people can see and touch, the words ‘I’ve made this’ carry a load of unfamiliar to me, yet deeply satisfying emotions πŸ™‚
      I didn’t know there was Greek vodka either-we live and learn πŸ˜‰
      The fact your cats are actively taking part in your writing explains the high quality of it. Performance enhancing cats?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Whenever I show my mother something I’ve made she always sounds vaguely surprised..like she didn’t think I was capable LOL! Macrame is useful as it keeps my hands occupied, the way smoking did, but at least I have something to show for it. I made Mum a macrame dog lead, I seem to remember…just need the clip at the end to attach to a collar. Mum’s training the pup at the moment-his recall is brilliant but he has a habit of bringing anything he can find with him. That’s ok inside as it could be a toy or a ball…outside…it’s lumps of mud, half chewed sticks..a clump of grass…or worse..and I love the idea of performance enhancing cats! πŸ™‚ xx ( ha ha ha…wonder how Alex is feeling after his night on the Greek vodka..!)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve seen paracord leads and collars, I guess they’re similar, some are really pretty πŸ™‚ I only know macrame from plant pots holders, I’m afraid. Brian brings stuff like that, too (our house is always messy) despite my efforts to convince him that toys are so much better πŸ˜‰
        When I think about Greek vodka I can’t help but think ‘catharsis’…strange what we remember from school. And how our brains choose to utilise this knowledge…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think Alex fully appreciates the value of catharsis now…lol…and excess!
        I think the worst dog present I’ve ever had was half a dead bird from my own little dog…dropped on the bed, so when Rocky comes back in with something from outside I’m trying to get him to just drop it on the floor, rather than press it lovingly into my hands…or face…:) x

        Like

  4. Sorry to hear about your mum. I hope that things turn out well for her and you. I have my “second year clear” inspection in a couple of months. Cancer can be beaten. I hope this is true in your mum’s case. With blessings and all best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, you can’t even imagine how a comment like yours helps-I’m really happy that you have your ‘all clear’ -and I wish you all the best πŸ™‚
      Quite a clumsy response, I know, but I’m not particularly good at saying things that mean rather a lot in a eloquent manner…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They were some of the toughest and least eloquent days of my life. Somehow I stumbled through them. Forty sessions of radiation. I was in the hospice in the Atlantic Cancer Centre, a long way from home, though I went back on the weekends. The women there were fantastic: so brave, so strong. They helped pull me through. Anything I can do to help … even if it’s just a ‘Chin up’ and a word of encouragement. Above all: breathe deep and believe and fight back as best you can. Blessings.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. All you say is helping-enormously. Makes me believe people are stronger and more resilient than we believe. I’m very happy for you-and your experience, physically and emotionally hard-can help families like mine feel better, more ready for the battle. Thank you-I really do mean it πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

