Sunshine and showers

002

Our training is just like the weather. Sometimes better than some other times. Brian’s making progress, the most important thing is that his panic attacks have gone now. He’s wary of people-and he might always be-but he keeps calm around most of them. I never let anyone we don’t know approach him and try to touch him. I’m happy when I see curiosity waking up in him, the need to sniff at someone, investigate if it’s worth saying hello to them.

014

Lily is of no help whatsoever, but I love her independence so much I don’t want to change her. It’s hard to believe how different she is from the dog who arrived to us nearly two years ago and was too scared to go out to the garden, walk up the stairs or even eat (for the first few weeks Lily only ate in the night, after we’d gone to bed). She’s brave, nosy, obstinate and naughty. And she looks very happy. She makes us happy, too.

019

My life revolves around my dogs. I cook for them, make stuff for them, teach them, play with them and when they are not around I think about them all the time.

And I wouldn’t swap my life for anything.

21 thoughts on “Sunshine and showers

  1. Ah, pleased to hear Brian is making progress, especially after being so poorly and Lily-that face! So funny and confident, now, bless her 🙂 Mum’s puppy has really lightened Erin’s moods as well, he’s so funny…don’t think he’s a whippet /lurcher cross, that’s for sure! Lovely update, lovely dogs 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love watching dogs interact (well, when they are fine with each other, that is)-I’m pretty sure they have as wide range of emotions as humans, even if their emotions might be different. Anyway, humans need a word to describe an emotion before they can fully feel it, so when we finally find words to describe animals feelings we might understand them better 🙂 Lily is often ‘disgusted’ with Brian-all that energy wasted on silly things! But they seem to love each other – or rather Brian adores Lily and she lets him adore her 🙂
      I’m slightly envious of your Mum’s new puppy…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh have you seen him?? He’s so cute!! He has enormous paws, nothing like Erin’s dainty feet, a wall eye and I think there’s definitely some bull terrier in him..:) And I think you are right, dogs are creatures of joy and emotion..they just feel..everything’s an adventure to them as well. I gave the pup a little taste of fish yesterday, and his face as he experienced the new flavour 🙂 and Erin was : “Really? You’re going to let her fob you off with that stuff??” 🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Now I have (I can’t believe I’d have nearly missed the post altogether). I’m going back to your posts to check what else I’ve missed! (sulking now)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 After Brian’s illness he seemed to have gone back to being really scared of people – but I feel relieved that he actually remembers most of what he’d learnt, just needed some time to get over the ‘vet trauma’ 😉 It’s still a long way, but we have all the time in the world 🙂

      Like

    1. well, they definitely take up most of my time 😉 they are easy to love because they just love you back-no questions asked 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m pretty dog-centric too. I realize just how lucky our dogs are compared to some. I volunteer for the local humane society and some things I see are pretty awful. Puppies dumped by the side of the road at 3 weeks of age, dogs shot, dogs starved with their mouth tapes shut (seriously). I love my dogs and I know you do too. It makes me so happy to read about people like you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, my life really does revolve around dogs. I help two charities (I’m a behaviourist, I’ve been working with fearful aggressive dogs for about 20 years now-don’t tell anyone how old I am;) ). I like people, too (well, most people) but dogs have always been around in my family so I can’t imagine not having them (and I’m not a one dog person). The cases of extreme cruelty can only be eradicated by law and education. BTW, apparently there are more suicides among dog trainers/behaviourists than general population (haven’t checked that, I think I read about it after Dr Yin died). This is my personal blog and I never write about other dogs-just Brian and Lily, but I do understand you …

      Like

  3. Lily is the small dog-right? Brian is the Big dog. Please tell me which dog is which. I keep your posts because I am animal lover.🙂🙂💙💙💛💛💚💚💜💜💌💌❤❤🙂🙂🙂🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

