‘All shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.’

According to Julian of Norwich, a mystic and altogether an interesting figure.

It seems we’re winning the battle with Brian’s Great Health Scare. There’s still a long course of anibiotics, but it’s nothing compared with all the poking and prodding and injections and sedatives and blood sucking and urine draining and tissue extracting and scans and tubes and meds and being exposed to all sort of torture.

002.JPG

The long illness has made a lot of damage to his mental state-he’s scared to leave home. So, yet again, we’re going back a few steps. Not that it matters much. Failing to meet the deadline is better than being successful in meeting death.

36 thoughts on “‘All shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well.’

  1. I hope he’s well on the way to recovery now-it’s heartbreaking when they are ill and can’t tell you where it hurts…still at least you know now and after a course of hefty antibiotics your boy should be well and able to cope with training again. Love the quote too..one of my favourites, comforting and reassuring :)xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually don’t like the quote but for some reason I can’t get rid of it -ever! Unfortunately, it’s always in my head when bad things happen! I think I only know about Julian of Norwich because of T.S. Eliot’s ‘Little Gidding’ (he uses the quote there and as it was written in 1943 and then there was Hiroshima and Nagasaki). Well, my brain seems to have its own funny ways …maybe that’s why I like Joyce so much. Makes me feel more normal πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know her only becuase of a nearly as obscure route as you…the book “Katherine” by Anya Seton, about John of Gaunt’s mistress mentions her and I was curious enough to find out more…quite famous in her time. Then lo and behold, day before yesterday there was a programme on BBC 4 about her and then your post today. I think these words keep appearing for a reason…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I need to see it (I don’t know much about her, really, just remember some weird facts). They quoted her in the last episode of ‘Call the Midwife’ (I have no idea why I watch it) .

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I read the first book of that and loved it but couldn’t get into the tv series…Miranda Hart possibly. Julian was an anchoress and spent most of her life walled up in a little cell and was also famous for being a female religious writer. She was vegetarian too…

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Ironically, I wrote about it at uni (I studied applied linquistics and political sciences) and you made me think about it again -last week, I think, when I was catching up with your posts πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It looks as if whatever it was has taken a lot out of him physically and it will do him good to rest a lot and regain his strength gradually at home. I have a feeling that when his energy increases he will be happier to go out again. He may be vulnerable to the cold weather while his immune system is recovering. As the weather gradually warms up it may help him too. Sending lots of love πŸ’– xxx

    Like

  3. Oh what a sweet little baby dog.–I love that photo of him. When Brian recovers physically, I have faith he will recover mentally. One of my dogs was rescued from an abusive home. She used to be scared of men, brooms, and big objects. I’ve owned her for 7 years and her fear of men and large objects, etc. is almost completely gone but, yes, it took years.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad to hear the Brian is on the road to recovery. I hope it is a very short road. Bless his heart for having to go through so many test. Did they ever decide what was wrong with him? Rest and love at home will do wonders for him, I’m sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, he’s recovering quickly now πŸ™‚ The huge inflammation was caused by some lesion in his belly -well, at the very bottom of his willy, actually. As it was internal, no bleeding or swelling it was quite difficult to locate the source. Anyway, it’s the ‘why’ that is important-but it doesn’t seem to be cancerous. So, hopefully, just some tumor or cyst that burst.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

