Fragile

030

My boy’s getting better every day. And I do hope he’ll make it. The dreaded Friday’s vet visit might be the last for some time.

His illness has put everything into perspective. There are things that matter more than anything else: people, pets that are our family, emotions and feelings.

The frequent and long visits to the vet have made Brian scared of leaving the house. He walks with Lily but as we are working on preventing reactivity I need to take him out on his own sometimes. Today was the first time I could go back to thinking about our action plan-I took him to the little park nearby where he met his friend, played with her a bit and looked rather happy.

024

I keep thinking about the inscription on my father’s headstone: ‘omnia sunt hominum tenui pendentia filo (et subito casu, quΓ¦ valuere, ruunt)’

This fragile little dog can make or break my life.

22 thoughts on “Fragile

  1. Oh Brian. He looks too small for all that kind of palaver to be happening to him, poor lad. Thank god he has the very best person to care for him and support him no matter what. You’re all doing a great job. Big hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you:) He definitely gets better every day, seems pretty back to normal now…BTW, I don’t think it’s suitable for a post on wordpress: it’s Brian’s willy that had the infection (possibly a cyst that burst). As it was inside and there were no external signs of anything (no blood or licking and so on) we didn’t go there immediately. Willies are nothing but trouble!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Poor little dog! What a thing to have… I am so pleased he’s on the road to recovery though, it’s dreadful when they are poorly and you don’t know what you can do to help…So glad to hear he’s getting better though! :)x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. So true. And this awareness is so necessary in the process of truly being human. Of course, the more your heart opens, the more it will break. But if your heart isn’t open, you’re pretty much dead anyway. We continue our prayers for Brian! We had quite the potential bummer with Jack- during a total landlady caused snafu we had no power or water for a week, all the money we had went toward trying to keep body and soul within waving distance of each other. Jack cut his paw very badly and there was no money for the vet. After cleaning and bandaging for a day, we used super glue on the gash. He’s as good as new now! So I think Brian will be just fine too, somehow. Love is powerful. Keep on keeping on…..

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you (and it’s such a lovely comment!). Life can be hard and love can be hard-but there would not be a point in struggling to be alive, to be happy or to be good if there wasn’t for love. Lots of hugs, kisses, waggs and woofs to you and Jack x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for the Ovid quote. You did me a service by not putting in the translation. It intrigued me. I had to refuse laziness and look it up. I now have to ponder it.
    Bless your boy. Health and wholeness to him and to you all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t mean to confuse (or indeed intrigue) anyone, I kind of doubt people read my posts so the content is at times slightly weird πŸ˜‰ I think in a few languages at the same time-but I only realise it when I have to verbally express what I think. Thank you for your good wishes, Brian is recovering so I hope he’ll be fine πŸ™‚ And thank you for taking your time to read the post (I still find it so flattering when people do!) x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s a sad quote. Life is precious and always uncertain and time limited. That’s why I’m always reminding myself to pay attention to the things that are going well. And when they’re going poorly, I remind myself to just keep going. I’m so sorry for the suffering you and your little dog are going through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It might be sad (we were sad when we chose it) but it makes me think about what’s important. Power and wealth that people fight for mean very little when you look back and see you’ve lost all that’s good in life: smiling faces, slow meals, gentle conversations…the smell of little dogs’ feet πŸ™‚ My idea of a happy life might not be for everyone, but it works for me πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What you say is so true. When we’re aware that our time on earth will someday end, we can focus on living fully now and enjoying what is best about life — the animal companions (humans and others) whom we love.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. You love your Brian and he knows it; this will help him hang on to life like it did for our Sam, who survived a stroke and completely ignored the cancer cells the vet found in his body three years before he left us. Keep hugging him!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

