Time is precious

007I didn’t think I had enough of it for my dogs last year. But we spent the last two weeks together, I relaxed and made new plans.

Both Brian and Lily are perfect. Lovely and loving, playful and sweet, intelligent if a bit naughty at times. I couldn’t wish for a better pair. (Can you sense a ‘but’ coming?)

But. They are all the above unless they go out together. Lily is the instigator, the trouble-maker, and most importantly: the one to be obeyed. Brian is bigger and stronger -and he bites. As for now, all the walks we do together require two people and constant attention. Which means that most of the walks are me with one dog. I do between six and eight walks a day, which is pretty exhausting. Unfortunately, I do realize there might never be a time when we can all walk together and I can just forget about the dogs, trust them with no limits and fully enjoy the walk.

001

Funnily enough, they seem perfectly trained. Separately. Which is not exactly what I aim for-I love walking my dogs, the plural form of the noun matters a lot. So I will carry on working with each of them -even if the relaxed walk together is a very distant future…

19 thoughts on “Time is precious

    1. Happy New Year to you, too πŸ™‚ We’ll sort it out (eventually) but it’s not a serious problem anyway…I just like walking with both of them (and as we live in a busy area this is not safe at the moment).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can see how it’s awkward…Mum’s old dog Rowan had a very strong herding instinct, she was a GSD so when there was me, Mum, two kids and two other dogs she spent most of her time trying to herd us all together than actually enjoying her walk!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy New Year to you, too πŸ™‚ Hope it’s going to be the best ever πŸ™‚
      Well, I know from experience that all it takes is just time and patience, so I hope we’ll be fine πŸ™‚
      Actually, we are quite fine even now πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. They are not fighting at all. They bark and stop being focused (and thus trainable). I need walks to help solve their issues (like Brian’s fear of people, which can be extreme and if it got out of control he’d bite-so it really is important to deal with it till he’s 100% reliable). Lily does sense emotions really well-but I don’t walk them when I get frustrated, I agree with you absolutely on this: our mood influences how they behave πŸ™‚ Happy New Year to you, too πŸ™‚ x

      Like

      1. I thought I read that Lily was biting Brian, or vice versa, when they were on their walks. I am glad I got that part wrong and they aren’t fighting. It’s hard to catch them before they get over the top and stay trainable, esp. if there are two. So, I can understand only walking one at a time. Good luck.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. oh, no, they are fortunately very close πŸ™‚ it’s precisely because Brian focuses on Lily all the time that I needed to step in-she can be a bit naughty, but she’s tiny and simply vocal (hides behind me when a dog barks back) not aggressive πŸ™‚ Still, Brian could develop into a monster if he tried to please her! x

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’m glad they are close. Sorry I read it wrong. Is Lily’s vocal – ness due to fear? That’s what Tippy does when she is afraid of a man – growl and then hide behind my legs.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. She is rather reactive in general and as often with fearful dogs, as soon as she gained her confidence, she started affirming her place/position. The trouble is, she is still a dog with traumatic past experiences, so I need to be careful not to go back to her fear phase. If it wasn’t for Brian, I wouldn’t do anything about it: she’s 18 pounds, barks once or twice and stays close to me rather than trying to properly attack anyone. But Brian thinks her behaviour means there’s a threat to them both and gets defensive. It could easily develop into full-blown aggression (as he has a huge fear issue on top of everything). Plus: he’s a mouthy and herding dog, so he would bite (he discovers the world by licking, nibbling at things, he even sucks toys when he sleeps). There are always multiple factors (breed and past experiences being just two of many) that determine what a dog will be. I don’t want to interfere with their characters (personalities?) but they need to have good manners πŸ™‚
        What Tippy does is common: she doesn’t want to pick up a fight, but she wants to send a clear signal: ‘I will protect and defend myself and my mum if I’m forced to do it’.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Yes, they do need good manners if they are going to be out in public. I do think Tippy would defend herself, but she is not aggressive at all. She does scare people though, because she can have a big bark to go along with her 65 pounds. It sounds like you understand your dogs well and have the experience to take care of a situation if it develops. Wags and hugs from Tippy and me.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Brian and Lily are perfect! Golden Brodie and I have been looking for you! When you like us it see it…but your page will not come up 😦 anyway…know that we keep our eyes open for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

