Keeping me busy

015.JPG

I walk the dogs for about 4 hours each day. I walk them together and separately. I want to be able to walk them together everywhere but to do that Brian needs to be trained separately. He will always follow Lily’s orders and she’s a rubbish trainer. She seems to love egging him on. When walking them both it’s hard to find good behaviour to reward, anchor and reinforce.

013

Training them separately works much better (it always does when both dogs are reactive-or both have issues) but my aim is to have dogs who can walk together and behave in all sort of circumstances.

I’m tired. My wild dog Brian (like all my dogs) has his training chart. It looks pretty depressing, but it doesn’t matter. I love him and it doesn’t matter how slow we go as long as we’re heading in the right direction. And we are making progress – which is all that matters.

21 thoughts on “Keeping me busy

      1. It explains a lot! I’m 5’2”, my husband 6’3” πŸ™‚ it works really well πŸ™‚ I think men like small women telling them what to do!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Dogs progress at their own rate, Alex. In my experience, I’ve found it helpful to learn when to follow the dog’s lead, while still making the effort to teach them the right way to be. What I’ve learned by doing this is that the dog will be more motivated to do what we’re asking of them; affection is a really big deal to them, even when they don’t want us to think so. πŸ™‚ Just remember to stay calm and lead on – even though you’re tired. The destination, when you reach it, will be soooooooooo worth the work to reach it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ We are all different and there’s no one method to address all issues. We’ll get there in the end, anyway πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ The post was meant to reassure people who think their dogs are ‘difficult’ (I meet lots of first- time owners who despair over their puppy’s behaviour). It does take time and patience-and some dogs are more complex and need more of it… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I know that lots of people think their dogs are difficult-well, some of them are…but there’s always a way πŸ™‚ Brian is perfectly behaved when Lily is not around, but it’s enough for her to bark once and he’s all out being the loudest, jumpiest dog in the world πŸ™‚ I will always lose with Lily, so to train him, I can’t have her around 😦 breaks my heart, actually, because Lily is my sweet little girl and I hate being without her even for a short time…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not daft, are they..lol…you get animals like that who feed off each other’s behaviour..for example, I know Ting wouldn’t dream of raking her claws down the back of the remaining good chair…unless Charlie had already demonstrated “how to”…!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. haha, there are no ‘remaining good chairs’ in our house-and we only have two cats! My mum’s coming over for Christmas, so we had to buy a new sofa and chairs (yet to be delivered) or she’d think we spend all our money on whisky and get our furniture from charity shops. We’re just hoping the cats can keep their claws to themselves for a few days…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My partner’s parents ask every time we see them if we walk our dogs together yet, every single time. I get so tired of that damn question and the same answer we have to give. We match our pups up and do joint walks in pairs every now and then, but I actually prefer solo walks – it’s so much easier to get in that training and see all those good behaviours you want to reward when you only have one dog with you. They all get joint walks where they’re paired up with whoever will suit them best, and they just get to go off lead and have fun, and we practice some heeling / focus on lead…but for me I actually prefer solo walks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like walking them together-but not where we live (pretty much the centre of our city). There too many people and dogs, every meeting can set them back and make progress slower. It’s also stressfull for me and I can’t walk with them when I’m not perfectly calm and relaxed-they always sense my mood πŸ˜‰

      Like

  3. Our lovely young rescue dog has a fair few issues, even though our older dog is very chill and doesn’t react to anything, I still have to walk the young one alone in her more stressful places to work with her. I find it impossible to focus and work with her if the other one is there! And it really can be a slow process, I try to keep looking back to remind myself how far she has come! Your dogs are very lucky to have you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

