Tenacity

img_4877

Being stubborn (determined?) pays. After about five months Brian’s training looks more like training, not just rehabilitation. Funnily enough, Brian, as any dog, only finds it hard to do something the first time. Once the fog of fear is lifted following commands can become a pleasure.

img_4874

Apart from considering people a threat, he is an ordinary, if hyperactive puppy. Of the herding type…Exercising him has been a challenge as I couldn’t trust him around anyone he didn’t know well-but he’s getting better. As with everything, we find it hard to find a compromise-we live in the city centre, so meeting lots of people and dogs is unavoidable.

img_4848

I wouldn’t like Brian to be anything else. I like a challenge, every tiny success makes me feel over the moon. My goals are clearly defined, I change the deadlines and methods but I will get there. I rearrange my life, work, social life but it won’t be the first time-and it helps me: I tend to obsess about controlling everything so I need a ‘difficult’ dog to make me take a step back, rethink my life and let go of some self-imposed limitations.

img_4871

I might have mentioned it before, but just in case: Brian is perfect. For me.

16 thoughts on “Tenacity

    1. He’s twice as heavy as Lily, but I think that’s pretty much how he’s going to be (well, he might be heavier but I don’t think he’ll grow much). It’s hard to describe the joy I feel seeing more of an ordinary dog in him (not terrified of people around). It’s silly, but that’s me πŸ™‚ He understands a lot of commands, but he usually looks at me suspiciously…when other people are around he keeps his distance, so we can’t go to agility classes. But it will all change πŸ™‚ Five months of tiny steps and then, yesterday, he decided that he’ll do some tricks-just like that πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It must be wonderful to experience such a day by day change in him, from a poor scared little pup to a dog with an individual personality and the confidence to show it. What an amazing job you’ve done and a lovely partnership to see develop through your blog as well πŸ™‚ x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you, I live for moments like these πŸ™‚ Lol: ‘amazing job’ it is definitely not! But Brian is loved and I’m proud of our small triumphs πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love the first photo – it is full of movement; you managed to catch him in flight! You sound like every smart parent: your goal is not to make him into something you want, but to help him develop into the best and happiest he could be, and that makes you happy. Unfortunately, there aren’t that many smart parents, for humans or animals!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad to hear you realize Brian is perfect.
    They are all perfect and beautiful, even in their imperfection, in the Great Cosmos.
    Don’t forget that applies to all things.
    You, too!

    Seek peace,

    Paz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

