We all need a break sometimes

img_4788

Especially when we have a birthday (or when we just simply can’t stand the irresponsible dog owners and all the deaths and suffering caused by stupidity and selfishness). I usually take a break from the world in November (I share my birthday with Dorian Gray from Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’). This escapist habit of mine keeps me relatively sane for the rest of the year. I used my break to bond with Brian-and it was worth it, he seems to know he’s mine. Brian doesn’t like people. I’m not happy about it, we’ll try and change his attitude as much as we can, but he does not trust anyone. He’s not easy to train and he might never listen to anyone else but me (and, hopefully, one day, to my husband).

img_4786

The thing is, I kind of love him even more, despite (or, perhaps because) Β of all the issues (barking at people, herding, nipping at ankles, chewing everything-including the walls and my Β£300 shoes).

img_4793

He’s castrated now – not because I believe it makes a dog calm and trainable (all the behavioural issues need to be addressed anyway, the castration is not a miraculous remedy for all ills) but because there are too many unwanted puppies and he’s not going to father any more. And because of the health benefits.

img_4792

He’s full of energy and he’s very much a ‘mouth’ dog, so I provide as many safe things to chew as I can. And, of course, I have explained that chewing on people and/or cats is not acceptable (verbal cue and ending the play).

And Lily is just sweet and lovely (well, she is a little monster, but nevermind).

img_4791
she’ll always be our little princess

 

28 thoughts on “We all need a break sometimes

  1. Great post πŸ™‚ Was just thinking about you this morning and wondering if I’d accidentally unfollowed you! Very glad you’re back but as someone who also finds Novembers hard for different reasons, can totally understand the need to disappear for a wee while.
    Looking forward to more of your posts. They do wonders for Siggi and me πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I actually like November, I always take a week or two off around my birthday to go to a Norwegian ‘hytta’ with my dog (no running water and no electricity but also no bad news or bad people). It used to be Ardbeg, though-and I do miss him, I always will. Lots of love for you and Siggi πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ It makes me emotional now! I would never think anyone could notice if I stopped posting here…must be the photos ;)(apparently, it’s also a marketing trick: cute animals attract attention and so on…well, in my case it’s just my blind love a.k.a. obsession with my dogs) πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. I actually think later is better – we were planning on closer to 12-18 months, but he was physically and mentally ready at 9 months and we decided to do it (we had more time off and I didn’t want to wait till the summer because the healing process would be longer). The vet should decide if the dog is physically ready, but it’s the owner, who knows more about the behaviour. With very timid dogs it is definitely better to wait, try to encourage self-confidence, curiosity, the need to explore and so on. If dogs that display sexually/hormonally driven aggression- the sooner the better (again, only when the dog is physically ready). I really believe in a very individual approach. The health benefits have been confirmed in older dogs as well, so early castration doesn’t reduce the risk of cancer that much (that’s just an example). Normally I’d do it a bit later. So, my rule is: the circumstances (non-spayed bitches around etc), behaviour (escaping, hormones related aggression, marking in the house) and health-all of that matters.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy bleated Birthday! Certainly missed seeing Lilly and Brians faces on here! Brian really has come so far with you, it is one of my favorite things to see unfold. I, too find that I love Styx more despite or even perhaps as you said because of his behavior ha! Styx had his first ‘dog sitter’ come yesterday and reported that he was wonderful so now I wonder if I harbor his bad behavior. Well, I’m a work in progress too haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I think we love them more because they are misunderstood. People often expect every dog to be happy when stroked by anyone. Well, I don’t like it when strangers touch me, either-yet nobody thinks I’m badly behaved because of that πŸ˜‰ Lots of love to you and Styx (I like both dogs and people labelled as ‘difficult’) πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy Birthday to you too πŸ™‚ Well, Dorian Gray is not really somebody I would aspire to be πŸ˜‰ If my mum waited one day I’d share my birthday with Dostoyevsky instead…(I was born prematurely anyway, so she could have saved the world from my presence for that one single day longer…) πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Aha! You obviously know more than I ever will about dogs. I had to leave it to my Buttons to train me! She did a good job of it and we managed well for the rest of her life. I still love thinking of her. Enjoy yours. Loved reading about them. Cheers, Muriel Kauffmann

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, but if I could learn, so can everyone else πŸ™‚ And I’m still learning, I devour all the theory I can lay my hands on-but it’s the practice that really matters (no two dogs are the same) πŸ™‚ x

      Like

Leave a Reply

