Has the cat got your tongue?

img_4626

Charlie would, he does like beef .

231154_10200203852204898_1522581452_n
Charlie’s first photo – now you’re ready for the tongue…

As requested, I’m going to follow up my grimy art of ‘odd-cuts’ cooking for dogs (and Charlie, the dogs taming cat) with some more recipes. Again, vegans beware, there are pictures of some fellow creatures’ flesh to illustrate the process. Encased in the photos of my dogs just to soften the blow.

img_4617

Ox (or beef) tongue is high on the list of Brian and Lily’s favourites. It’s mainly muscle, but it does have a high fat content – I guess that’s the reason they like it so much. Buy it from a local butcher ( I can write a separate post explaining why, I am a vegan, after all).

img_4614
they are ethical carnivores, ‘head to tail’ eating, animal welfare, low impact on environment and supporting local farmers…

If it’s clean just put it in the pot with water and dried herbs (I use bay leaves, thyme and rosemary and top it up with some fresh parsley or to make it even simpler: my favourite mix : sage, ground coriander, dried parsley, rosemary, thyme, ground caraway and flax seeds, a bit of oregano and basil ). If it seems dirty, soak it in cold water and scrub it clean. I’m happy to report I have never had to do it yet.

img_4577
cooked & unpeeled

img_4581

The rest is simple: cook for 2.5 to 3.5 hours (depending on the size) uncovered-if you want to get rid of the ‘scum’. If you can’t stand the smell cover it (my dogs didn’t seem to notice any difference, maybe they like the scum). You can use a pressure cooker to reduce the cooking time. Add vegetables some 20 minutes before the end of cooking time (I use left-over broth and veg from cooking bones/ pig trotters/chicken so I usually skip this step). Take the tongue out and leave to cool slightly (just to make it possible to handle, if it’s very cold it’s hard to remove the skin). Then peel the skin (it’ll have turned white). The skin is hard and rough but it’s rather easy to peel: make a diagonal cut from the base to the tip of the tongue, on the bottom side of it, then just do the banana peeling motion. Or slice an peel – but I find the first method easier and faster.

img_4582
cooked, peeled & almost ready to eat
img_4585
it looks like any other cut of beef in reality but the light in my kitchen changed the colour in the photos

If, like me, you use separately prepared broth and veg, you can warm the tongue in the broth to add flavour. If you cooked it with the veg, just cut into chunks and serve. Room temperature is perfect for dogs, so don’t go all chefy warming the plates, cutlery and napkins (no, I don’t think even the Michelin star chefs do that).

So, to simplify: boil, peel, serve.

img_4590
gone is seconds (and she is a fussy eater)
img_4589
Brian licking both bowls clean

 

img_4591
and that’s what’s left after Β just a couple of minutes
15 thoughts on “Has the cat got your tongue?

    1. Well, cooking for dogs is easy, and you can make more, divide into smaller portions and freeze them. I use frozen vegetables mixes and make my dry herbs mix once a month or so and keep it in a container. The dogs always appreciate my cooking, so there’s lots of satisfaction, too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The best cat food is the one that is not being currently served – so even if you get the moth/grass flavour you crave for, it’ll be boring the next day πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I use anywhere within the 50-30% veg. I try to smuggle more as my dogs are quite active and I use lots of green leafy vegetables. With more nutrient dense ones (carrots, parsnips) it’s ok to use less. And it depends on the dog – I don’t think everything works in the same way for everyone (that’s true about both dogs and people). With fattier cuts of meat it’s good to add more greens (spinach, broccoli) simply because it keeps the energy more level (and most urban dogs need to cut down on calories). But I don’t have one formula, it really depends on what we do, on the dog, on the skin condition and energy levels (and on the poo!) πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

