Leg cocking

img_4557

That’s what has taken over my life now. I must admit I am slightly obsessed with it. Brian is my second male dog and Ardbeg’s leg lift (he had already weed like a big boy when I got him) always made me smile.

Brian is nearly eight months now-male dogs usually start cocking their leg between sixth and twelfth month of their lives-so I had been waiting impatiently for weeks. I was the first to see it and immediately informed the world about this big moment (the world around me, at least). Last Wednesday (5th October 2016) at 2.15 pm.

Brian is not particularly ‘male’-he’s not dominant or overly protective, he doesn’t guard anything, he’s not reactive when he meets other male dogs (though he wants to play, he bolts out and charges at everything that moves and it might be read as a bit too much by some dogs). He had sisters and brothers , so it’s not that he hadn’t been exposed to both female and male Β hormones in the womb. But I was anxious, trying to talk myself into believing I don’t care and it doesn’t matter. All lies. I like the distinctive pose that shouts: ‘I’m a male dog, this wall/lamppost/tree belongs to me!’. As it’s a blog about my DOGS I’ll refrain from analysing my own behaviour and any potential underlying problems the said behaviour indicates…

14606305_10211212167165892_4956487066237372224_n
this is the only photo I have so far, but it proves the point

So far, there’s been no house marking. Brian is going to be neutered, but as he’s just started being more confident I’m not in a rush, so if everything goes according to my plan, it’ll be after the New Year. I’m well aware things hardly ever go as planned, but as we visit the vet regularly, we can adapt to the circumstances.

img_4556

Lily has definitely more ‘balls’ than Brian. She is a fierce little creature, she initiates fights and she’s not afraid to use her teeth (she doesn’t do it now, of course, we do teach the dogs the basics). It creates all sorts of problems in training because 1. Lily’s history (she’s a hoarder’s dog, with horrible early life experiences) 2. my husband is blind when it comes to her, so anything I teach her is quickly unlearnt as soon as ‘daddy’ is around 3. I’m also biased because Lily is tiny and does ‘the Puss in Boots’ eyes. If there’s ever been a dog able to manipulate humans into doing what she wants, Lily’s definitely that dog.

Things are going well. We work, we play, we are happy. Some of us wee like a girl, and while there’s nothing wrong with it, I’m glad some of us wee like a boy, too.

18 thoughts on “Leg cocking

  1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Great post. My last dog cocked his leg so high he used to almost fall over. Amusing to watch ! Then quite quickly he reverted to just squatting at times . Never neutered. Hard as nails when it came to his job . Cock, squat it always made me smile . Thanks for sharing πŸ˜€πŸΆ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ Brian puts his heart into it, too- it is hilarious. I have no idea why it makes me smile, but it does πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Raiden started cocking his leg at FOUR MONTHS – I was like “what?! No you can’t stop being a puppy already!!” haha πŸ˜›

    He’s the least pushy dog ever, too. Confident, always happy, never reactive, fearful or aggressive, and just an absolute sweetheart. He is a bit too bouncy-playful with other dogs, so we pick his play mates carefully, but he’s such a laid back little dude πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, Brian’s hormones are all over the place now, so he can change from confident to fearful in the matter of seconds…but we’ll be fine, he’s just a normal adolescent dog πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. hello brian and lily its dennis the vizsla dog hay wow brian luk at yoo yoo ar a big dog now!!! reemember the boy dog rool!!! if yoo like it pee on it and if yoo dont like it pee on it!!! so basikly thats pee on it!!! ok bye

    Like

Leave a Reply

