Everyone’s good at something

2785

Brian is good at pointing. And I’ve found it out thanks to my best friend, who is a hunter (yes, I’m a vegan whose best friend hunts). Brian is quiet and observant, he doesn’t make too much noise when he chases the scent, he spots moving object and ‘points’ with amazing accuracy. He stops a few steps away and ‘honours'(‘backs’, cooperates with his doggy team). Β He’s not scared of gunshots and he’s much better with men when we’re in the forest.

Ta dah! He’s too scared of people to do agility/obedience so I’ve found an alternative to keep his energy levels under control.

2801
I’ll try to take a photo of Brian pointing …but I’m too excited to remember!
12 thoughts on “Everyone’s good at something

  1. (This may seem off topic at first but I promise it’s not.) If you let chickens out of their coop during the day, they always go back in at night. But every time we get new chickens, and let them out for the first time, they can never figure out how to get back in, and roost in the bushes. So if we’ve forgotten to help them get in, and it’s after dark, we will take Molly out and say,
    “Find the chickens!”
    It’s actually pretty hard to see them, but Molly will stop and point at them, and if I draw a line with my finger from her nose to where it’s pointing, there’s usually a chicken at the other end. So, you see, a dog that points is really useful!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know! I love pointers, my grandfather always had quite a few. I like working breeds in general (I’m just not very happy when people misunderstand the breed and expect a herding dog to sit still and a guarding one to be quiet and so on).
      I’d love to see Molly pointing at her chickens. It sounds super cool! She’s amazing! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Awww my dog is so scared of people, but she loves to jump. So we run and we find little benches and stuff for her to jump. She’s getting older so we don’t do it that much, but she still loves it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

