Dog fixing

IMG_3737

I don’t fix dogs. I can’t make them ‘normal’. I don’t even know what ‘normal’ means to anyone else but me. I rebel against the notion a dog needs to comply with the rules because I question the rules. I’m not interested in living up to anyone’s expectations because I know better what makes me happy -and I decided to give some of the freedom I enjoy to my dogs.

The training never ends, there’s no quick fix, no deadline. We all change and evolve, people and dogs alike. Every minute I spend with my dogs is important and teaches us something. I analyse the environment, the timing, my expectations, my dogs body language, I adapt and compromise. I’m there, in the moment, I don’t switch off, I don’t multitask and chase pokemons on my phone.

It also helps that I don’t care much about what people think (unless I care about the people). After all, there’s a social pressure on women to be unnaturally thin, for men to be financially successful, for mothers to be selfless: the majority can and often is wrong. Which leads me to a rather obvious conclusion: I don’t want people to think like me. I just want them to think.

 

 

22 thoughts on “Dog fixing

  1. I agree totally with your position. I really see worrying about what people may/may not think a total waste of my time as I have no control over what they think. Of course I hope that people like me, but what is far more important is simply “Do I like me?”. If the answer to that is “Yes” (which it is), then anybody else’s thoughts are rather secondary. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a great comment. As Oscar Wilde said: ‘when we’re happy we’re always good (but when we’re good we’re not always happy)’. We need to like ourselves to be able to like others. Well, I try to be polite, but when people ask: ‘can you fix my dog?’ I just feel sad for the dog as well as the owner.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is sad that the owners are often totally clueless. I have often commented that “DogTrainer” misrepresents the profession. It should be “Dog Owner Trainer’! Let’s face it, the average canine catches on really fast given competent training. It’s the owners that seem to be having the issues!

        Liked by 5 people

    1. Someone asked me yesterday if I could fix their dog because ‘he’s not normal’. I kind of understand, but I rebelled against the description. ‘I don’t fix dogs’ I said ‘I just watch them’. I think he left thinking I wasn’t normal, either…

      Liked by 2 people

  2. You can’t “fix” or “normalize” anyone or anything. They’ve tried it in communist Russia and failed. “To be happy we must not be too concerned with others” (Alber Camus). On top of the pyramid is SELF-actualization, according to good old Maslow. When you actualize “self,” you enrich the world around you, and I believe that the same concept applies to animals. You are helping them become “selves” to their fullest extent, and thus you are serving the greatest good of humanity.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ll say that Brodie and I go to our training sessions…and I know that I need instruction many times over him. I also try to stay true to myself and when I do that…the rest falls in with others. I enjoyed your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Definitely agree with the no multitasking on walks, I always like to have full attention on Bonnie, her body language and reactions to our environment especially in busy or off lead scenarios. I usually don’t even like taking photos myself unless it’s really quiet out and no one is nearby as a situation can change so quickly, otherwise I get my partner to take photos for the blog and he will take both our phones to take care of the Pokemon hunting haha

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Before my injury when I was still training on an almost full time basis I used to tell my clients that their dogs didn’t need to be trained. They were already the very best dogs they could be. They sniffed, they ate, they went potty, and all the other things dogs should do. The owners, on the other hand, needed to be trained to get the dogs to cooperate with human rules.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I love what you have written. The first thing that filled my heart with joy was the photo of those little beauties smiling at the camera. The second is what you said about humans. It’s true, we should cultivate our own unique and individual character rather than mocking someone else! You’d be a great human trainer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post. You cannot change a dogs personality through training just like you cannot change a persons personality (no matter how much you wish you could LOL) Dog training is absolutely human training. The human has to commit to always be training the dog. General obedience is necessary however you have let a dog be dog sometimes and love that dog for who they are!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

