One killing one exhumation

13714397_10208412644728544_1173923917_n
cute puppy, shame about the owner…

I have killed a snail. Washed it together with the blankets. It’s against my life philosophy. I don’t even kill mosquitoes. The image of the poor little fellow desperately gasping for breath to finally disappear in the whirlpool is going to haunt me forever – or at least for a few hours.

To continue the macabre: Brian brought a dead pigeon chick and tried to bury it in the blankets (no wonder they need to be washed every day) at four o’clock in the morning. Judging by the smell it must have been dead and buried for a few days. I can only assume its death was the result of Brian-Charlie cooperation. No use interrogating them, though. Thick as thieves.

13735379_10208412618887898_1010992506_n
partners in crime?
25 thoughts on “One killing one exhumation

  1. Lol! Your Charlie does look like mine, although he has more white. I always feel bad if I step on a snail unawares…at least you didn’t step on the pigeon..I’ve stepped on a dead mouse which was vile…
    Love the photo of them sleeping together : )

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If it’s any comfort, Alex always tells me that snails and little creatures are always incarnated again quickly if they meet an end like that, to give them another go…my Charlie seems to lack the know-how for killing, but Lily makes up for it. Just rescued one mouse and released it at the bottom of the garden…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d feel horrible, too. I know where you’re coming from. It’s refreshing to see that other people, judging by the comments, have the same empathy towards such small creatures. In my life, these people are a rare and treasured breed. I battle with what I feed my dogs, that’s my life’s big contradiction.

    Like

  3. I’d feel horrible, too. I know where you’re coming from. It’s refreshing to see that other people, judging by the comments, have the same empathy towards such small creatures. In my life, these people are a rare and treasured breed. I battle with what I feed my dogs, that’s my life’s big contradiction.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excuse me a moment …and just how do you know the snail was alive before going into the wash? You do not really KNOW you are a snail killer. Right?
    If Brian and Charlie are partners in crime, I would lighten up on Brian a bit, if I were you … from looking at their picture, I’d say that Charlie has the ‘upper hand’ in the relationship. Brian might just be the ‘GoFer’ dog. “Go for that snail, this bird…”, Charlie commands.
    🙂 Thanx for your fun loving blog. ren

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, when you put it like that…innocent until proven guilty? Brian collect snails, but I always find them alive, sometimes two or three bundled up together on the sofa…it’s slightly weird 🙂 And you’re right about Charlie, I’m sure he thinks all dogs in the house were adopted entirely for him! He probably thinks they are his servants. Or bodyguards.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I concur with Benedith. I sometimes hear a crunch under my bicycle wheel, even though I am always careful to watch the road, but South Florida streets are notoriously unsafe for cyclists, so you have to keep an eye out for cars, etc. I console myself by thinking that a live snail would not have been in the middle of the road. They must be smarter than that! And Charlie does have an expression on her face similar to my Barmalei’s when he puts his sister Beba up to some mischief and just sits and observes her being blamed. Don’t worry, Brian will grow out of it and become less gullible!

      Liked by 2 people

  5. There’s another possibility: the snail may, if actually alive at immersion time, have died happy. I used to have a bird bath (well, small saucer of water) in the front flower area of our house. It happened to be right by the car door when one got out which wasn’t so swift. Anyway, one night, after tripping over a clump of Shasta Daisies and coming Dangerously Close to tipping over the bird bath, I saw it was FULL OF SNAILS. Lounging, almost as if their little arms were resting over the lip and they were cracking jokes. They were almost swimming, some were underwater, but the air of enjoyment was undeniable. I can’t kill anything either but I also can’t think that any negative energy might attach to you as a result of this complex situation. Brian just gets more adorable every day. And yes: the cat’s the clear mastermind at present…..

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Hi thank you for dropping by my blog and liking ‘is it gin?’ Bit of a newbie still so it’s great to get feedback. I loved this post about the snail, I had a similar experience once where a frog got in my tumble drier, especially disturbing as when I got it out I thought it was a pair of socks…..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. hello brian and charlie its dennis the vizsla dog oh hay wow i see yoo guys hav got a total kritter lawndering operayshun going on their!!! step wun hide critters in the lawndry step too they git kleend up step three profit!!! ummm i am not shoor how the profit comes in but i am shoor their is a markit for lawnderd kritters!!! ok bye

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

