Can’t stop smiling

IMG_2404

I don’t need a lot to be happy. Brian is hard work, but he’s so gorgeous I don’t even notice. Walks are hard, he doesn’t want to leave the house. Once he’s out, though, he seems to enjoy playing in the field, especially when there are other dogs around.

He’s got so much energy I can’t think about anything else but him. And Lily, of course-I’d hate to think she might feel neglected only because she has a new ‘brother’. And it’s good, it makes me feel happy, I don’t care what happens around me, I have my bubble of bliss, I close my eyes and even in my head everything is smiling. We’re getting to the point where Brian starts to be an ordinary, loved dog, not timid and cautious all the time, not trying to hide but getting bolder, being a bit naughty, playing with anything and everything, cuddling to Lily and ‘his people’. Feeling safe, feeling loved, feeling alive.

As I clean the carpet yet again wondering how much more garden can our dining room accommodate I know one day I will actually miss the mess, the rotten wood, the pigs’ ears which, having been buried in compost for a day or two, are picturesquely spread around the house, the socks, the semi-chewed table mats, the bottle tops and other hard plastic bits which invariably end up on the sofa in the carefully selected spot-precisely where I place my rater sensitive behind and discover them with a lively ‘ouch’. It’s puppyhood. I feel privileged to be part of it.

26 thoughts on “Can’t stop smiling

  1. How magical! I love this post and particularly that you ” have my bubble of bliss, I close my eyes and even in my head everything is smiling” – what a fantastic feeling that must be! Brian looks like he can’t stop smiling either to have arrived in his ‘forever’ home which is filled with such love! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The feeling that someone feels safe and happy-and I contributed to it-is the most wonderful emotion I’ve experienced. In a way, it justifies my existence. And it’s quite addictive…I love the fact Brian is no longer looking around for someone to hurt him, his delicate nibbling at the toys has developed into a proper ‘grab and run like mad’ puppy play. It really is something that makes everything around me wonderful πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That really is so so special. It’s hard to believe that people can mistreat their animals and we’ve had 2 that were both mistreated and 1 that was lost. The love they gave back to us and the fun and laughter was immense. Truly a dog is a man’s best friend and in your case you are also a ‘dogs best friend’ ! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      1. We kind of predict his size using this method, too πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t mind a big dog, Lily’s tiny (well, we don’t really care, actually, we’ve had all sorts, pointers, Great Danes, Jack Russels, teacup sized ones)-all were fun πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

