Love made edible- 3 tips for home cooks.

IMG_2040

One: use a basic recipe: meat+vegetables+herbs. Pop everything into a pot, bring to a boil and let it simmer ( with the lid on) till it’s cooked (about 30 minutes for poultry and poultry offal). With longer cooking meat (beef, game) add the veg and the herbs 15 -25 minutes before the end of cooking time.

Two: make friends with your local butcher. You’ll have the best quality meat at the best price, you’ll get some odd cuts cheaply and bones for your broth for free. He’ll also give you some tips or prepare the meat for you (important if, like me, you are a vegetarian).

Three: shop in Asian, Eastern European and generally ‘foreign’ shops for meat and fish. They often have better quality meat (and some interesting vegetables and herbs) cheaper. They also sell all the wonderful odd cuts your dog will love. Check local farmers markets and look for free range odd cuts online.

Many people seem to think cooking for dogs is time-consuming , expensive and difficult. It definitely isn’t in my house. I do like doing my research and finding ways to make Lily’s diet healthier while sticking to my ‘don’t waste animal products’ principle, but it’s just my own, personal choice.

Lily Β definitely loves cooked food. Her favourite dishes are: chicken stomachs with vegetables and ground linseed and beef tongue with vegetables and lots of parsley.

IMG_2044

33 thoughts on “Love made edible- 3 tips for home cooks.

    1. Well, I guess it’s just the way I project my ideas on my dogs πŸ˜‰ My own diet is not bad, I guess (even if I’ve been a veggie for pretty much all my life) and I remember from my semi-professional sport life (years ago) how important it is to nurture your body to get results. So I want Lily to feel good and have a long, healthy life. I do consult my vet, though (thus, no BARF for my little girl)

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Interesting. I guess I hadn’t really thought about the fact that you could use “odd cuts,” like beef tongue or chicken stomachs. I just assumed, if I cooked for Tippy, it would be the expensive stuff that I would eat too. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, you can eat them too (if you eat meat, that is). There are plenty of restaurants that promote ‘head to tail’ eating and some things are definitely back in fashion (bone marrow, the said beef tongue, cheaper cuts of beef and pork used for ‘pulled’ beef/pork dishes). Because I’ve never eaten meat I actually have to do a lot of asking/ reading – and funnily enough, I seem to know more about meat than my meat-eating husband πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Lily really loves it- and my cats as well! I just cook it for a really long time (3-4 hours) and peel the hard skin. It definitely looks super soft under the hard casing πŸ™‚ I know some posh restaurants serve it, too, so if it’s good for sophisticated human palates is good for my pets πŸ˜‰

        Like

      1. I’m not sure, really. I’ve always had dogs, but I’ve had cats for most of my life, too. I definitely love all my pets and I love them with equal, if, different love. I can’t imagine living without cats, but, unlike my husband, I don’t pester all cats in the neigbourhood. And my cats are perfect for me (I wouldn’t change anything in them) but I’m sure I wouldn’t defend this statement in court. They are perfectly beautiful πŸ™‚ And now I’m going to spend half a day wondering if I am a dog person…

        Like

  2. Happy hump day! Sorry I’ve been out of touch; I am back in action again (I bet you know how that is). Stay tuned for more regular postings! I’d love it if you could tell me what you’d like to see more of: travel, bucket list, pilot-wife-life, lifestyle, yoga, or turquoise inspiration (or all of the above, lol)!
    Jessica, Turquoise Compass

    Like

  3. We did try making our own dog food, but with meat from the grocery store, so it WAS expensive. Good tip about the butcher and the odd cuts of meat. I imagine since we always have a big garden, once it gets going we will have too much of some things. Especially squash. Squash always goes crazy, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brilliant post with excellent information. You knew we’d love this! Mum’s dog is now eating better as she cooks for her- obviously as a pedigree GSD Erin felt she deserved better than tinned food! Thank you for a great informative post!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Our dogs also love their cooked food. They usually get on a Sunday – my husband throws meat, veggies, herbs/spices (usually tumeric) etc. into the slow cooker, and boils them rice. They “wolf” it down! They aren’t a big fan of carrots, however, so they usually eat around those πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. must be something about husbands and Sunday cooking -it’s the same in our house, it’s usually something very special then and all my meat-eaters love their Sunday dinners! I smuggle turmeric into Lily’s food hoping it really is good for her (she doesn’t seem to like it much) πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is almost exactly what my mum used to do for our dog! She used to put the odd cuts and bones from our meals in with veggies and rice in a pressure cooker, sometimes lentils too, and it would be ready in no time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

