No

11863415_10207900244329891_8147897306792028476_n

‘So how do you tell your dog not to do something?’

I don’t.

I teach Lily to do other things instead. The idea of doing something that gives her reward (my attention, cuddles, a treat, a chase or a play with me) seems to work. She stops doing things that give her nothing from me (barking and chasing cars, showing fear based aggression towards other dogs and some objects, growling at people). She loves rolling in fox wee, I’ve just remembered I probably should do something about it…I might have mentioned I’m rather laid back about so many things ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway, my point is: I don’t tell her to stop. I offer her an alternative and she stops whatever behaviour I’m not too happy about. It’s an easy and quick way to get what you want. Only works when you compromise, though, so if you’re not ready to spend quality time with your dog you’ll fail. I’m not talking about hours, though. Lily loves training, she learns a trick in seconds, so 3-5 minutes spent doing tricks (with me going all ‘good girl’, cuddles and her being high on my excessive attention) works wonders. It’s better than any moving, loud object that needs chasing, better than men making noise moving HER bins, better than scaring away a dog that wants a sniff of her bum. See, I’ve made myself a highly attractive reward for my dog and it’s fun ๐Ÿ™‚

16 thoughts on “No

    1. ha! I know, but cats in my house are daddy’s boys and they do whatever they like (we just like it that way, actually). We’ve had the two cats that are with us now from kittens, they are just normal, spoilt, happy boys (even though, as with all our pets, they found their way to us because they were ‘unwanted’). Whenever I mention ‘training the cats’ my husband looks at me as if I wanted to murder them!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My son actually started training our Siamese by accident- she found out that tricks like sit, lie down, fetch guaranteed attention! Now the others do the same – it’s funny how they learn from each other!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Good read! I do have to amend Samantha Murdoch’s statement and make ‘sometimes’ into ‘SOMETIMES’ works with cats. I’ve had a few that were just on the brink of learning something then thought that grooming was more important.

    Like

    1. Well, she probably thinks it works better. We learn when we’re ready to learn ๐Ÿ˜‰ Maybe people don’t praise her enough and she doesn’t know how powerful a motivator it is?

      Like

Leave a Reply

