Wisdom of the fox

IMG_1671

“People have forgotten this truth,” the fox said. “But you mustn’t forget it. You become responsible forever for what you’ve tamed.”  Antoine de Saint-Exupery ‘The Little Prince’

I take lots of photos of Lily. I analyse her body language in all the photos and videos, I register changes. But the photos of her are not taken to make her upset, I stop immediately when I think it would be another trigger. She likes my attention, so she’s actually enjoying all the modelling. But I will never take a photo of her for anyone’s amusement (so you’ll never see ‘funny dogs photos’ here). If she’s funny, she just is, I don’t care if anyone thinks she’s pretty, cute, amusing or just an ordinary dog. She is, after all, just an ordinary dog, who deserves some personal space, who shouldn’t be exposed to bullying, who should be allowed to retreat to her safe spot when she feels like it. When I made her mine, I took on a huge responsibility: to protect her, to listen to her, to understand. All too often people expect the opposite. They want to be protected, listened to and understood by their dogs. They fail to give the same in return but if things don’t go as they wanted them to, they would still blame the dog…

IMG_1674
my imperfect models
8 thoughts on “Wisdom of the fox

  1. That’s a great quote from The Little Prince. That whole book is full of quotables! Thanks for stopping by at my blog, it lead me here and I got to meet Lily! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

