Stating the obvious

13052606_10153701636793867_242045452_o
Lily’s learnt ‘sit’ is the surest way to get the reward.

To teach effectively it’s a good idea to:

1.Divide the task into chunks (minuscule if needed)

2.Praise progress

3.Rethink your tactic if it doesn’t work

4.Know your dog, respect her individuality, use her dominant senses to your advantage (smell is obvious, but some dogs ‘learning styles’ are more auditory, some more visual, some more kinaesthetic-just like humans)

lil
my smart students

It’s impossible to learn when you hate the teacher…but everyone knows that, right?

8 thoughts on “Stating the obvious

    1. Lucky you! Lily would do anything for a bird/squirrel chase (which is a much harder task to arrange). I’m really into domestication of dogs social cognition, so I try to work out how Lily reasons. Most rescues (especially abused dogs) seem to have good emotional intelligence-they learn how to ‘read’ our face. I find it fascinating…all the best for you and Tippy xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  1. 5. Have fun!

    Love this. Especially number 4. I often ask my clients on consultations to describe their dog in 5 words ! Some interesting replies ! Keep sharing. πŸ˜€πŸ™πŸ»πŸΆ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lily’s still work in progress, I’m afraid. We still use a long training lead when we go to the forest. The thing is, I’m never as attractive as a rabbit or a deer. However, as I think teaching recall is vital (it can save her life) I’m hoping for 100% response soon…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It still sounds like you’ve made great progress with Lily! Out of curiosity, did you start her with a shorter lead first then work your way up to a long lead? We live in the city so we haven’t got much room to work with, but we go on the occasional hike in the woods. 🐢🌲🌲🌲

        Like

      2. I started at home and in the garden, though with Lily there was another issue: she had been kept inside for the first 3 years of her life, so things like grass, wind, doorways (well, pretty much everything) scared her. Anyway, I taught her to come when called at home first (tracing treats in my hand), when she understood ‘Lily’ was her and it’s good to be next to me when I say it we trained in the garden, no lead but I was making a proper idiot of myself (running backwards, tossing toys in the air). Then outside, long training lead, enough time to explore and sniff, gentle voice. I never called her when I knew she wouldn’t have come anyway (it’s counter-effective). Every dog is different, though the general rule is: make yourself more attractive than anything the dog wants on walks. And let her be a dog at times, too πŸ™‚ They like sniffing, running around like mad, chasing and so on. The lead can’t be a signal ‘the fun’s over’-put her on the lead often for a short time, then off again (freeeedom!!!) so she doesn’t associate it with the end of the walk only πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That is amazing! You built that bond with Lily and it’s clear she trusts you a lot. It’s very inspiring to see how much progress you have made with her. ❀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

