Thank you

IMG_1524This is the last photo of Ardbeg. He died quietly, without pain and fear on 16 April 2016. In all my despair I really wanted him to stay, even one more day. But I made a promise and I have kept it. No more pain, no more fear, no more suffering. He was put to sleep on his own sofa, surrounded by love and compassion.

Thank you, all of the people I haven’t yet met, for reading my blog, for your comments, for showing me there’s so much love in the world. You are amazing!

This blog, started to occupy my mind while I was waiting for Ardbeg to be taken away by cancer, has done the job-it has been therapeutic, it has kept me sane, it has helped me to deal with pain. I will carry on working with abused dogs-Ardbeg was yet another one who showed me it’s worth it. And I’ll keep my blog, even if there’s no more Ardbeg in ‘Lily and Ardbeg’.IMG_1530Alex and Ardbeg-we were such a great team…

 

65 thoughts on “Thank you

  1. I put a like on this, not because I like what the post is about, but because Ardbeg is now at peace. And to go to that peace where he is comfortable and loved is the best you could have done for him. I only got to know him and you recently, but I have been touched by your story. I am glad you are going to keep on with the blog. I will keep following. Sending big hugs.
    Lydia!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, I read other blogs here and I see how many people struggle with emotions, we somehow feel it’s not sensible to mourn after the death of a pet. Well, I think love is love and feeling grief shows I’m not a psychopath. He was the best friend I could wish for and I’m glad I could share a bit of my life with him.

      Liked by 4 people

      1. I still mourn the passing of my beloved cocker, Brewster about 23 years ago. I have had dogs I love since, but he and my current Violet was/is my best friend, constant companion. I agree love is love and we need to be able to grieve it no matter. Allow yourself to grieve and if you ever need someone to “listen”, my email is on my contact page.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I am so sorry to hear about Ardberg. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
        This brings tears to my eyes..as I write this.
        I know you will miss him…greatly.
        Think of the fun and special times you shared together.
        And know that he is in a special place where there is no more pain. He is at rest.
        Some dog owners always talk about crossing that rainbow bridge.
        He knew you cared and he cared for you.
        May he rest in peace my friend. โ™กโ™กโ™ก

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry to hear this, and I only recently got to know Ardbeg through your blog. I know it is hard, but you did the right thing and kept your promise to him. He was loved and knew it right up until the end. Sending thoughts and prayers your way.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! It never gets easier (he wasn’t our first dog), but he had a good life and a good death. He knew he was loved, he was my perfect friend (with all his imperfections and the quiet acceptance of my own flaws…) We had a strong bond, so it hurts, but it will get better.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Awww, I’m so sorry for your loss. It’s like losing a piece of your heart. Take comfort in the fact that your sweet pup has crossed over the rainbow bridge and is at peace. Just remember, he’s never truly left you because you’ll never forget him. โค๏ธ

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! He had a good life, he changed from an abused dog with numerous issues into my little helper (he helped other dogs overcome fear of people and new situations). My little hero, he changed my life and he’ll live on in all the good memories we have…

      Liked by 5 people

    1. Thank you. You’re right, we are lucky and blessed to have them and they make our lives worth living. There will always be a part of Ardbeg lingering in our house, in our memories and in our hearts. The cats still look for him (he was a great cat lover, gentle and careful with them).

      Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you, I just can’t express how it makes me feel-I’m really, truly humbled…and very emotional (I shouldn’t have posted it so soon, I’m all soft now). Ardbeg’s magic works even when he’s not here: he made me a better human being and he loved everyone-thus helping me make friends.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. So sorry for your loss. Dogs are here for just a part of our lives, but to them, we are their whole lives. Thank you for sharing your journey with Ardbeg, who clearly had a beautiful, wonderful life after you gave him a chance. Hang in there and may your other pups give you the courage to stay strong ๐Ÿ’“

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, I think we both had a wonderful time together. And I love all my dogs, most of them build a strong bond (and have a tendency to suffer from separation anxiety, which Ardbeg was the most wonderful helper with, stray dogs got calm with him). I wouldn’t have coped at all on my own ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Liked by 2 people

  5. What a lovely tribute to a lovely dog, i know exactly how you feel as my own dog passed away over a year ago and i still think about her everyday, they are the most amazing creatures, they become your best friend, sorry for your loss, may Ardbeg be very happy in doggy heaven โค

    Liked by 2 people

    1. They become a part of us, they live in us, in the changes they caused by loving us and forgiving us our little mistakes. I’m sure your dog has left her mark in you (even if only by giving you the sense of being loved unconditionally)

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I’m very sorry for your loss and hope that you have all the support you need during this difficult time. You saved his life and he will forever be a part of your life in spirit. May you reconnect your love in the next world and find comfort in the fact you brought him nothing but love and peace x

    Liked by 2 people

  7. So very sad to read about your dear Ardbeg. My heartfelt sympathy and hugs I’m sending with this little comment.

    Back in 2007 when our little 12-year-old Chihuahua died of congestive heart failure, I cried for days. Even though we gave her a peaceful and loving departure at the vet clinic, it was horrifically sad. Because you planned a loving and peaceful departure for Ardbeg, later on you when your heart is not so heavy, you will be always have the comfort knowing you parted in the kindest way possible.

    A wonderful thought came to me one night when I was crying myself to sleep about our little Candy: You don’t have to stop loving her. What? That was a real comfort to me. We hate to lose love. So after that, whenever I thought of Candy, even to this day, I can say and feel “I love you, Candy. I still do.” This wonderful idea helped me through the death of my father just a few months later. A much bigger loss of love! But I firmly believe nothing can take your love away! A body may die but love does not. Love is eternal, I believe and God is love.

    And I also believe God takes all His animals back to Himself when they leave their earthly bodies. Whenever we have had to call the vet to put to sleep an ailing and very old animal, another comforting thought I had was to tell myself we were sending the animal back to God, the safest place to be.

    Belief in God our creator as well as all the good thoughts we can possess will not ease the profound grief we experience in the physical loss of our beloved ones. We need the blessings of comfort and peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I am so very sorry to read your news and our hearts go out to you. I had nominated your blog for a Liebster Award as I absolutely love reading your blog and you have so much to share. This is maybe not the time, but the award nomination is there for you if you ever want to accept it. We send you so much love xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Why did I only learn of your blog today? Perhaps there’s a reason for that. Following Ardbeg’s last months would have sent me over the edge. But now I’m here – we’re all here – for you, Lily and your entire household. There’s nothing I can say to ease your pain. Not one thing. Except that I’m thinking of you. And hoping you’ll take good care during this painful time. Bless that boy. You gave him such a life.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, we were very happy together and he really was a special dog (all dog owners probably say it). It will get easier with time. And I’m glad I started this blog as it helped me realise there are so many wonderful people, so many exceptional stories…

      Liked by 2 people

  10. hello lilyandardbeg its dennis the vizsla dog hay i am sorry that ardbeg had to go away run free littel frend and be shoor to stop by tuckers everlasting rainbo bridj buffay!!! saya and me send tail wags to the frends yoo had to leev beehind!!! ok bye

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m so sorry to hear this. I didn’t find it before (new to blogging). I lost my first beloved rescue dog some years ago and I know how much it hurts. Remember the good times. You were lucky to find one another.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It never gets easier. But it’s good they are with us, no matter how short their lives -I wouldn’t change my time with Ardbeg for anything. And I have Lily, she’s doing very well, despite all she’s been through. I’m new to blogging, too, I’m quite confused at times…thank you for your kind words, I do appreciate it a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. oh man, you just made me cry! I am sorry for your loss! Animals are the most precious in the world, besides children, I think. I love animals and I wish more humans would care for their animals ….. it is sickening to me when I read how some people abuse them. Thank you for caring for them, I love reading your stories! …. and yes, keep your blog going even if the names change, your work and your care will go on strong! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  13. heartbreaking to lose such a dear dog but since the suffering has ended that is also good. so glad that he had a happy, loving life with you. best of luck with other dogs you will encounter.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I have only just read this and realised that you have lost Ardbeg recently. I am so sorry – our animals really are family and it must be so hard. I am glad, though, that you were able to turn his life around in such a positive way and give him the loved and cared-for time that he deserved. I understand totally the promise that you made him and I know how important that was to me when I lost my cat a few years ago. I had always promised her that I would bring her home and so, in the end, that is what I did. My thoughts are with you

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I’m sorry for your loss and I hope you’re feeling a bit better now. I know it takes time to really recover. I had to send a cat onward to the Rainbow Bridge when (in hindsight I realized) she’d got caught in the Chinese pet-food mishandling a few years ago. The acute pain eases, but you never forget. They leave you with such brilliant memories…

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I don’t stop by often enough. I am late to offer condolences, yet I do. Such a fleeting moment we share with our dogs but they never leave you nor you them. The love perpetuates as long as we continue giving it. With this blog, with Lily and each person and dog you touch, you are giving that love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

