7 ways to improve your walks

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 GO TO NEW PLACES break the routine, don’t let your dog get bored

2 MAKE YOUR WEEKENDS MINI-ADVENTURES explore forests, beaches, small towns or villages, the countryside, even pubs!

3 FIND A WALKING BUDDY you’ll be motivated to walk and you’ll enjoy it more

4 MEET NEW DOGS, MEET NEW PEOPLE smile and interact, be friendly but don’t invade anyone’s personal space

5 DO SOME TRAINING but make it fun

6 PLAY track, hide-and-seek, fetch, let the dog use all his senses, use toys and treats

7 VARIETY IS THE SPICE OF LIFE change places, change routes, change pace, zig-zag, circle, retract your footsteps

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Finally, 3 pieces of advice:

1.be creative but be safe

2.quality is as important as quantity

3. DON’TΒ  just walk your dog, walk WITH your dog

Remember: follow advice, not orders, I don’t want you to think like me, I just want you to think πŸ™‚ Know your dog, do things that work, don’t do things that don’t work.

 

10 thoughts on “7 ways to improve your walks

  1. Great advice. However, Tippy and I tend to walk the same path, generally, every day, but it is never the same! It is back in my neighbor’s field, away from people and roads, but she gets to run free and there are always new odors to smell, new sounds to hear, new critters to chase. So, I don’t think she gets bored with that.

    I do take her other places when I can – to the town near my home, the tennis courts, the mountains, etc. I want her to learn to meet and greet other people and dogs in a nice, friendly way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have our morning routine walks, and I agree, even the same places are exciting as things happen there every day πŸ™‚ We usually go for a trip at weekend and the dogs are so happy discovering new places (and so tired and well behaved later)! I think any walk can be enjoyable as long as it’s not a rushed, ‘to the shop and back’ walk πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree. I’m sure your dogs love the weekend trips. Wish I could do that more often. It does tire them out. It tires Tippy out just to ride because she is so interested in everything that goes by. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My dog would actually hate that idea. He like to go to the same park for his walk everyday and even balks if I try to walk around it clockwise rather than the usual counter-clockwise. Truly a creature of habit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

